Why Kevin DeYoung’s Church Uses ESV

Here is the link to the booklet I recommended this morning at the women’s Bible study, Why Our Church Switched to the ESV.  You will also want to check out Kevin’s blog.  Enjoy!

One response to “Why Kevin DeYoung’s Church Uses ESV

  1. Thanks for the article David. I’ve been considering a Reformed Study Bible as my next purchase…..reading this article helped to “seal the deal!”
    over the past couple of years,I’ve been memorizing the ESV version of Ephesians, and I must point out that the NIV helped me to understand Ephes. 5: 13,14
    (ESV): 13 “But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, 14 for anything that becomes visible is light…” Does this mean: anything that becomes visible doesn’t weigh very much? or …does it mean that anything that is exposed by light is itself life? or…that which is exposed is also light? ( hmmm…no, that can’t be right) HOWEVER….when I read the NIV, it says: 13 “But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, 14 for it is light that makes everything visible.” ( ahhhh… now I understand ! ) but this is very rare that I have to go to the NIV for clarity, so I’m still getting the ESV.

Leave a Reply

